Swelled head syndrome…

Blog Awards 2015_Winners Gold Button

So I won ‘The best blog post’ in #Bloggies2015.

For those who don’t know what those are, it’s the Blog Awards Ireland.

To break it down further.

I wrote something, and people liked it. And that’s very, very, very gratifying.

I’ve written for newspapers all my life, and I’ve never been vain about publishing work. I’m more used to letters to the editor written in green ink, than slaps on the back, praise or kudos.

Any working journalist will tell you, we really aren’t in it for the accolades.

However, to be recognised for something self published, and on an important topic, allows me an internal thumbs up. A feeling that all the thousands of column inches, the long hours, the shite money, the training, and the talent (yes, I do believe I have talent – coz, I’ve had to make myself believe that to keep slogging on) are worth pouring a lifetime into.

I’d like to thank everyone who has supported me on the bockety path towards getting a shiny dirt-catcher to put on the mantlepiece and forget to dust.

Am particularly proud that the blog that won was the one I wrote about the Marriage Equality Referendum campaign. And I won the prize on the very night that the legislation for same passed through both houses of the Oireachtas.

Anyway, in the absence of a Gwyneth Paltrow pink frock, and a blubbing acceptance speech, I should shut up now. The credits are rolling.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Swelled head syndrome…

  1. Well deserved Anne Marie. You’re a great writer. Well done again.

    • Thanks a million Paula. Despite writing for a living all my life, I am, as are most creatives I think, plagued with self doubt. So thanks to you again 🙂

      • I’m the same with my photography. Never happy and always trying to improve and be better. I think it’s better than being the opposite because then you would think that you’re perfect and would never improve. I love how you write and although I was in that long list for best blog post, I knew you’d do it and was not disappointed to lose out to your talented piece. Well well deserved.

      • Oh, I didn’t even realise that you were finalist in my category too. How horrible of me to be banging on about myself, and not mention that. And yes, you are totally right. The day that we are happy with our work is the day we get smug. And the day we get smug is they day we get shite 🙂 x

Leave a comment